Happy Children’s Day!!!

We worry about what a child will become tomorrow, yet we forget that he is someone today.

~Stacia Tauscher

  When I was growing up, there used to be a joke about a child reading book titled “How to take good care of your child and raise them properly” His parents,quite naturally, were quite surprised to see this as this was a book not for the children, but for the parents to read.They queried him regarding his reason for reading this book” The child coolly replied, ” I just wanted to find out whether or not I am being raised properly.” 🙄 :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

This joke  usually had the audience in splits…I remember distinctly that I used to be amused at this joke myself. The idea that the Child himself might want to and/or NEEDS to be conscious of how he must be treated was perhaps alien to the people at that point in time. Imagine my surprise when I noticed THE CHILDREN’S BILL OF RIGHTS printed at the back of the front cover of my daughter’s Maths and Civics NCERT textbooks.  It is not a part of the curriculum to be studied by the children. It is there just  for the information of the students and for the sake of spreading awareness amongst the teachers, parents and caregivers.

Cool!! I must say  🙂  🙂 At least for a small section of the Indians, this idea that the child should be made aware of his rights has stopped being a joke now.  I wonder if this is an indication of a paradigm shift in the way people view children now as compared to the generation before us. How effective this exercise is going to be is, of course, questionable and the results are yet to be seen.

Parents, teachers and caregiver, in short the adult population that should be sensitised to the needs and rights of the child. If we were to analyse these rights even cursorily, we will find that these right are in no way EXCLUSIVE for the children. These are more or less same as the needs of an adult. Do give this thought a serious consideration this Children’s Day and please don’t forget this during your interactions with a child….regardless of whether that child is someone elses or our own.

Because children are important…just as important as grown ups. What they think and say is important too Someday all childrens of today are going to be grown ups. They will have a job, drive a car, make laws and help other people. But right now lets just ensure they have a happy childhood.Let them have some fun being themselves.  🙂 🙂

CHILDREN’S BILL OF RIGHTS

 A child is every person under the age of 18 years. Parents have the primary responsibility for the upbringing and development of the child. The State shall respect and ensure the rights of the child.

 Dignity and Expression

I have the right to know about my Rights.[Art.42]                                                                    I have rights being a child and no matter who I am where I live, what my parents do, what language I speak, what religion I follow, whether I am a boy or a girl, what culture I belong to, whether I am disabled, whether I am rich or poor. I should not be treated unfairly on any basis. Everyone has the responsibility to know this. [Art. 2]                                             I have the Right to express my views freely which should be taken seriously, and everyone has the Responsibility to listen to others. [Art.12,13]                                                                 I have the Right to make mistakes, and everyone has the Responsibility to accept we can learn from our mistakes. [Art 28]                                                                                                   I have the Right to be included whatever my abilities, and everyone has the Responsibility to respect others for their differences. [Art 23]

Development

I have the Right to a good education, and everyone has the Responsibility to encourage all children to go to school. [Art. 23, 28, 29]                                                                                     I have the Right to good health care and everyone has the Responsibility to help others get basic health care and safe water. [Art. 24]                                                                                    I have the Right to be well fed and everyone has the Responsibility to prevent people starving.  [Art. 24]                                                                                                                            I have the Right to a clean environment, and everyone has the Responsibility not to pollute it. [Art. 29]                                                                                                                                          I have the Right to play and rest. [Art 31.]

Care & Protection

I have the Right to be loved and protected from harm and abuse, and everyone has the Responsibility to love and care for others. [Art.19]                                                                     I have the Right to a family and a safe and comfortable home and everyone has the Responsibility to make sure all children have a family and home. [Art. 9,27]                        I have the Right to be proud of my heritage and beliefs, and everyone has the Responsibility to respect the culture and belief of others. [Art 29,30]                                    I have the Right to live without violence and corporal punishment (verbal, physical, emotional), and everyone has the Responsibility not to be violent to others. [Art. 2, 28,37, 39]                                                                                                                                           I have the Right to be protected from economic exploitation and sexual exploitation, and everyone has the Responsibility to ensure that no child is forced to work and is given a free and secure environment  [Art. 32, 34 ]                                                                                          I have the Right to protection from any kind of exploitation and everyone has the Responsibility to ensure that I am not being subjected to be taken advantage in any manner. [Art 36]

IN ALL ACTION CONCERNING CHILDREN THE BEST INTERESTS OF THE CHILD SHALL BE A PRIMARY CONSIDERATION.

_____________________________________________________________________

All these rights and responsibilities are enshrined in the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child, 1989. It contains all the rights which children have all over the world. The Government of India signed this document in 1992

You can go to the UNICEF website to find out more About the UN convention of the rights of a child

 

This entry was posted in Frankly Speaking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Happy Children’s Day!!!

  1. I fully subscribe to your views.I relished the joke as well.

  2. दुष्यंत जी की कविता का आपने उल्लेख किया है. इसका मतलब यह कि आपको हिंदी से परहेज़ नहीं है. हमारे हिंदी ब्लॉग पर भी आप का स्वागत है.
    http://mallar.wordpress.com

    • Amrita says:

      🙂 Hindi is my mother tongue. I love it unquestionably and I have a deep respect for Hindi Literature. I am quite fluent in Hindi as well. But if this is not seen on my blog then the only reason is that I have become more proficient in typing in English. But now, I guess, it is time I learned the Hindi font as well 🙂

  3. sangeeta says:

    Loved everything in this post … the Dushyant Kumar poem , the joke which experienced a paradigm shift and the reminder of the rights and responsibilities …

    A child is an individual personality and many parents often forget this , as you said there is still a small fraction of the people who have realized that a child’s awareness is not a joke anymore…..

    • Amrita says:

      Thanks Sangeeta 🙂
      This poem by Dushyant Kumar is a particular favourite of mine and I am yet to find another one which expresses “an Ashirwad” in a more earthy and realistic tone.

  4. bet365 says:

    This has been flagged as spam

  5. Amrita says:

    Reblogged this on A HOUSEWIFE'S CHRONICLES and commented:

    Happy Children’s Day!
    Let kids be kids, and if you can, be one yourself today!
    🙂 🙂 🙂

  6. Mousumi says:

    hi Amrita i just happened to read ur blog through some connections but whatever i loved all u have written! app- laudable!!!

Leave a Reply

