Simple as that!

Via

Happiness is fleeting; it somehow evades us and escapes from our grasp.

Stated simply, in every situation we have two choices – either accept the situation as it is and stop resisting it, or take action. Those are our two choices, always.

Thats seems simple enough, but is it? 🙂  

What I like about this poster is that it highlights that WE are ourselves responsible for our state of happiness. In case we wish to shift your position from “Unhappy” to “Happy” all  we have to do is change something…Fair enough!

Happiness is a do-it-yourself proposition. Life hands each of us a personalized kit with everything we need, and we put it together, one piece at a time. Happiness comes in many flavors. Explore your options, try different strategies, and be open to change.

But, the moot question is  “Change what??? and how???”

I came across the Serenity Prayer few years ago and I think it contains so much of what we need to know about life:

God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change,
Courage to change the things I can,
And wisdom to know the difference.

I believe that when it comes to ourselves, we can change anything we want to. We CAN change just about anything about our own selves in our lives; we cannot, however, make changes “in” or “for” others. And sometimes we just might find happiness by simply accepting our selves as powerless 

From Daily Serenity Prayer-Inspirations for a peaceful life

The other day they were replacing power lines on my street. I was working at home, and I was without electricity for the whole day. Powerless. No computer. No laundry. No cordless phone. Lit the stove with a match. Wrote longhand. Walked the dog in the middle of the day. 
 
Felt free. 
 
In this case my powerlessness was obvious. But there are plenty of other times when it takes me a while to realize it.
 
Like when I’m trying to solve a problem again and again in a way that isn’t working.
Or trying to change another person’s behavior.
Or letting a thought or feeling get the best of me.
 
In those cases accepting powerlessness means giving myself permission to stop.
Just stop.
 Stop trying to control, fix, think, rethink, do, redo what can’t be fixed, controlled, done by me alone. I say “enough”… “when”… “I’m done.” And I do something more productive. Read a book. Journal. Take a walk. Breathe.
 
Powerlessness gives me space to start over, to detach, to get out of a rut, change my perspective, get free.
 
 I embrace the blessing of powerlessness.
This entry was posted in Frankly Speaking, Life Experiences and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Simple as that!

  1. Harsha says:

    Nice post. Yeah, it is we who are responsible for our happiness. 🙂 Loved your daughter’s blog too. She is truly talented. 🙂

    Best wishes.

  2. Very thoughtful !!
    Considering that change (good or bad) is inevitable and pain is also inevitable, unhappiness is a pain. It’s better to just go with the flow…..Sit back and see the pain disappear , for the muscular kind of pain we have anodynes.

Leave a Reply

