It will be Happier

“Hope
Smiles from the threshold of the year to come,
Whispering ‘it will be happier’…”
― Alfred Tennyson

The year 2012 ended on an introspective note.

December 2012 witnessed the extraordinary courage  shown by an “ordinary” girl. Her ordeal galvanized Indians to demand a safer society.

The interruption of a 23 year old life jolted us out of our collective ennui and has forced us to take a long good look at ourselves in the mirror.

Sadly, what we saw there wasn’t pleasant at all. All is not well with the world and no one, but no one, can play ostrich any longer.The spontaneous outburst of grief has resulted in a veritable slug fest…with everyone blaming  someone ELSE for the present state of affairs …

2013, in all probability, will see some serious soul searching and introspection as a society… as a nation… and also…. as individuals. Even though the authorities are entrusted with the duty of providing  safety and security to its citizens, duty of keeping the society stressfree falls on individuals because moreoften than not, stress is basically caused by interaction between individuals and even if it isn’t, a healthy interpersonal relationship can easily diffuses stress. This might appear to be a very simplistic model for a very serious problem. But I strongly believe tis to be panacea for a lot of social evils.  We have to realize the fact that in the past few decades, a systemic erosion of human values has been going on. This has not only got to be stopped but the Herculean task of reversal of this process has to be set in place.

Cleaning up of these Augean Stables will have to start from the individual… from the self

Let’s resolve to make the world a better place for men, women & children.

So much needs to be done.

So many wrongs need to be set right.

So many changes and modifications to be made in our collective as well as individual thought process. Freezing is not an option… it never was.

Every new day is an opportunity for us to shape our world, our lives.   Even as this first day of the new year is relentlessly marching ahead, I find my spirit rising ….filling me with enthusiasm and verve to DO  something…

Anything…

so long as it is constructive…

so long as it is uplifting….

even if it does not have global or national ramifications…

even if it fails to make any headlines…

even if it impacts no ones life but my own.

For me, this incident like countless others only evokes grief.. No anger. No doubt this last fortnight all but devastated our psyche.

But even amidst such gloom and depression, there were quite a few strong beacons that prevented us from plunging into the abyss.

The strongest was “Nirbhaya” herself.  She refused to let the circumstances victimise her. Here was a “Victim” who was actually as heroic as anyone can possibly be. It was not pity for her that galvanized the nation, it was respect. I know I am not going to forget her.  And I also know that she will continue to live in the consciousness of millions of others. And her memory will fire our resolve to make this place a better and safer place for all men, women and children.

Call me an incorrigible optimist if you will, but somehow today I find myself more convinced than ever that things will take a turn for the better soon and there are far better days ahead for us than ever before.

Yesterday, I was listening to some oldies on YouTube and I cam across a forgotten  childhood favourite by Abba…I have a dream.

I dream and desire for a place where every one can lead perfectly charming and ordinary life… where “living” does not translate into an extraordinarily heroic act. Yes I know, today, this sounds almost like a fantasy, a fairy tale.

But I have faith that we can do it yet, and we, surely, will.

It is NOT going to be easy though. But is that a reason for us to become cynical, to give up?

I don’t think so.

♥ I Have A Dream ♥  (Lyrics)

– ABBA

♥ I have a Dream, a song to sing
To help me cope with anything
If you see the wonder of a fairy tale
You can take the future even if you fail
I believe in Angels
Something good in everything I see
I believe in Angels
When I know the time is right for me
Ill cross the stream, I have a Dream…♥

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

This entry was posted in Frankly Speaking, Life Experiences and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It will be Happier

  1. I too am optimistic about changes coming, Amrita. I’m so glad to read a post reflecting my views. It’s easy to lose hope – but we mustn’t.

Leave a Reply

